Test on Monday, May 15th

The 10 Commandments

  1. You shall have no other gods before Me.
  2. You shall make no idols.
  3. You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain.
  4. Keep the Sabbath day holy.
  5. Honor your father and your mother.
  6. You shall not murder.
  7. You shall not commit adultery.
  8. You shall not steal.
  9. You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor.
  10. You shall not covet.

The 8 Beatitudes of Jesus
"Blessed are the poor in spirit,
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Blessed are they who mourn,
for they shall be comforted.

Blessed are the meek,
for they shall inherit the earth.

Blessed are they who hunger and thirst for righteousness,
for they shall be satisfied.

Blessed are the merciful,
for they shall obtain mercy.

Blessed are the pure of heart,
for they shall see God.

Blessed are the peacemakers,
for they shall be called children of God.

Blessed are they who are persecuted for the sake of righteousness,
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven."

Gospel of St. Matthew 5:3-10


The 7 Deadly Sins

  1. Envy = the desire to have an item or experience that someone else possesses
  2. Gluttony = excessive ongoing consumption of food or drink
  3. Greed or Avarice = an excessive pursuit of material possessions
  4. Lust = an uncontrollable passion or longing, especially for sexual desires
  5. Pride = excessive view of one's self without regard to others.
  6. Sloth (Acedia) = excessive laziness or the failure to act and utilize one’s talents
  7. Wrath = uncontrollable feelings of anger and hate towards another person


Catholic Values:

Respect for Human Dignity

Catholics are called to respect, love, and promote human life; and to defend the life, dignity, and rights of all people. Human dignity is the belief that all people have been endowed by God with dignity and deserve respect. It is the belief that everyone has something to offer. The Catholic faith begins with the recognition of the infinite worth of each and every human being – seeing the value and worth of every human being and honoring and respecting the uniqueness of each person.


Respect for the dignity of all people leads to defending their human rights – the right to the basics of life (e.g., food, clothing, shelter, education, work) and ensuring that everyone in society works to see that people’s basic needs are met.


Respect for Creation and the Environment

Catholics are called to respect, care for, and defend all of creation. We are called to examine how we use and share the goods of the earth, and how we live in harmony with God’s creation. Catholics are called to stewardship – the duty or responsibility to use the world’s resources responsibly.



Catholics are called to love one another and ourselves. Jesus said that our love for one another is a sign by which others will know that we are his disciples (Jn. 13:34-35). Jesus said that we need to love others as we love ourselves and to remember that we are always loved by God.


Catholics are called to love even our enemies. “Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, bless those who curse you, pray for those who abuse you. ...If you love those who love you,” Jesus said, “what credit is that to you? For even sinners love those who love them” (Lk. 6:27, 32).



Catholics are called to actively work to right the wrongs, to balance the indignities, to fight for the good causes, and to bring human dignity into this well-intentioned but imperfect world. Justice means working for human equality and decency by not displaying ignorance or prejudice, by not judging others, by respecting differences, by opposing bias, bigotry, and discrimination. Justice means expanding our care and concern beyond our family and local community to the nation and world.


Care and Compassion

Catholics are called to hear another’s cries of anguish, feel another’s pain, and respond. Compassion is the experience of feeling the other’s life as one’s own. One of Jesus’ most powerful stories focuses on the call to compassion: the Samaritan looks on the man in the ditch with compassion and responds in a way that no one expects (Lk. 10:25-37). Compassion moves us beyond just “feeling” the pain of another, it moves us to action.



Catholics are called to serve one another, humbly and unselfishly. Jesus gave us an example when he washed the feet of his disciples (Jn. 13:4-17). Catholics are called to serve the poor and the powerless – feeding the hungry, clothing the naked, sheltering the homeless… (Mt. 25). Catholics are called to befriend those whom society looks down upon. Jesus made himself the friend of the outcasts (Mt. 11:19) and did not avoid their company (Mk. 2:16).



Catholics are called to forgive one another and always to seek reconciliation with one another. Jesus said that we cannot ask forgiveness for our own sins unless we are also ready to forgive those who sin against us (Mt. 6:12). Catholics are called to renounce revenge. “If anyone strikes you on the cheek,” Jesus said, “offer the other also” (Lk. 6:29).



Catholics are called to pursue peace and harmony in their personal life, relationships, and world. Peace means reconciling differences and resolving conflicts non-violently, recognizing that differences are seldom resolved through conflict or violence.



Catholics are called to develop relationships built on loyalty, trust and love that provide intimacy, security, and happiness. Faithfulness in relationships involves respect and commitment between people. Catholics are called to reserve sexual intimacy to the committed relationship of marriage.


Honesty and Integrity

Catholics are called to be honest and genuine with other individuals, institutions, society, and self in every act, deed, and dealing. Honesty grows from an inner strength and confidence that is bred by exacting truthfulness, trustworthiness, and integrity.


How to Pray the Rosary

See the Rosary folder.